Love Memory in front of St. Louis Cathedral in New Orleans, LA

 

New Orleans Proposal

Pen & Ink, Gouache, on Bristol 11 x 14″Copyright 2016 Norfolk, VA; Commission – Sold

It has been too long since my last post! Life has been overwhelming, exciting, and busier than I could have ever imagined. I graduated with a Master’s degree in Counseling Psychology and immediately moved to Norfolk, VA to begin working on a PhD in Counselor Ed and Supervision. My, my it has been more than a challenge! Yet, it is incredibly worth it and I can feel myself growing with every completed endeavor. Teaching undergraduates, tackling three research projects, editing a textbook for publication, recruiting prospective students, holding a leadership position with a national association, along with taking a full load of courses… And then getting used to a new city, new work environment, new professional responsibilities, a new peer group, etc….

It is easy to lose touch with our passions. I am grateful to a friend who recently commissioned this piece for a wedding present. Her friend was proposed to in front of the St. Louis Cathedral in New Orleans, LA. I have not practiced my skills in drawing architecture for several years, so I was nervous to take on the project. However, I was ultimately pleased with the outcome, despite neglecting my craft over the past few months due to my busy schedule. Again, I saw the piece come to life (my favorite phase of art making) and appreciate its beauty and minor imperfections for what it is.

I hope to continue creating work as time moves forward. Unfortunately, it will not be at the same pace as before, though I am glad to have this outlet – one I may have for the rest of my life.

This entry was posted in Art, Ashley Layton Pittman, Bristol, Engagement proposal, Gouache, New Orleans, Painting, Pen & Ink, St. Louis Cathedral and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

