Male Study

Male Study

12″x24″
Graphite and conte crayon ; acrylic and crackle paste on canvas
Finished product copyright 2014 ; Enterprise, AL
Figure study copyright 2005 ; Troy, NY

I came across a portfolio full of old sketches I drew while I was in high school. At the time I was attending an evening figure drawing class at Russell Sage College and was instructed by my high school art teacher to bring my drawings to her for private review. These old, earnest drawings are beautifully reflective of my growth as an artist. Interesting to the eye, these figures are oddly proportioned and anxiously striving to become something. I have decided, for this reason, they are valuable and important in their own right. Therefore, I sealed them onto a textured canvas, hoping to accentuate that they come from a time of history. What an incredible find!

Image | This entry was posted in Acrylic, Canvas, conte crayon, crackle paste, Graphite, High school Figure Study, Portraits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Male Study

  1. Susan says:

    What’s this man’s story? I’m fascinated by him.

    • laytonart says:

      I am fascinated by him too! I’m not quite ready to part with him so I’m keeping him to myself for a little while. I remember very little of this man except that he had a nice hearty laugh. Strange that I can still hear it after so many years and having virtually no interaction with him!

Leave a Reply

